HobbySpace Home Space Gazette RLV News

From: Pat Bahn (bahn@tgv-rockets.com)
Subject: Space Activist Telegram #1 2002 [Support for Oklahoma Spaceport Funding]
Date: Sunday, May 05, 2002 2:43 PM

Dear Friend of the Future:

If you are getting this, it is because you believe in a better future, or are friends with someone who does.

Many of us are tired of waiting for NASA to establish a future course and are willing to try a different set of directions. Chief among this group of new pioneers is the State of Oklahoma and the Oklahoma Space Industrial Development Authority (OSIDA) www.okspaceport.state.ok.us. OSIDA has been active in working with a number of small companies in trying to pioneer a new set of space industries. OSIDA is also working to open a commercially licensed spaceport at Burns Flats. Licensing a spaceport requires following a complex set of federal regulations as described by the FAA (http://ast.faa.gov). In order to license the spaceport at Burns Flats, OSIDA is attempting to get a congressional earmark for the 2003 budget authorization. NASA has no interest in assisting to license an inland spaceport, so this must be done using congressional authority.

In order to make this happen, we need to get report language and funding moved through the Congress. The time is short, but the level of funding is low. We need to work the Senate Appropriations Committee, the Senate authorization committee for NASA (the Senate Commerce Committee), the House Appropriations Committee and the House authorization committee for NASA (the House Science Committee).

While there are members of Congress signed up to support this earmark, there are apparently severe forces of opposition gathering, particularly among certain congressional staff. We must overcome this resistance, to make sure that no last minute maneuvers sideline this very important activity. We need your help to contact the following members of congress. If you are a constituent of these Members of Congress, your assistance is particularly vital - contact them! If you are not a constituent of any of these Members, you can still help - please then contact the Chairmen and Ranking Minority Members ("RRMs") listed below. (Links to US Senator official websites.)

Senate Appropriators ---

Senator Robert Byrd (D-WV)
Chairman Senator Ted Stevens (R-AK) RRM

Senator Barbara Mikulski (D-MD) (Chairman VA/HUD Appropriations Subcommittee which funds NASA) Senator Patrick Leahy (D-VT)
Senator Tom Harkin (D-IA)
Senator Herb Kohl (D-WI)
Senator Tim Johnson (D-SD)
Senator Christopher Bond (R-MO) (RRM of VA/HUD Subcommittee)
Senator Conrad Burns (R-MT)
Senator Richard Shelby (R-AL)
Senator Larry Craig (R-ID)
Senator Pete Domenici (R-NM)
Senator Mike Dewine (R-OH)

House Appropriators ---

Rep. C.W. "Bill" Young (R-FL) Chairman
Rep. David Obey (D-WI) RMM

Rep. James T. Walsh (R-NY) (Chairman VA/HUD Appropriations Subcommittee)
Rep. Alan B. Mollohan (D-WV) (RRM of VA/HUD Subcommittee)
Rep. Tom DeLay (R-TX)
Rep. David L. Hobson (R-OH)
Rep. Joe Knollenberg (R-MI)
Rep. Rodney P. Frelinghuysen (R-NJ)
Rep. Anne Northup (R-KY)
Rep. John E. Sununu (R-NH)
Rep. Robert B. Aderholt (R-AL)

Rep. Marcy Kaptur (D-OH)
Rep. Carrie P. Meek (D-FL)
Rep. David E. Price (D-NC)
Rep. Robert E. (Bud) Cramer, Jr. (D-AL)
Rep. Chaka Fattah (D-PA)

Rep. Virgil H. Goode, Jr. (I-VA)

Senate Authorizers ---

Senator Fritz Hollings (D-SC) Chairman
Senator John McCain (R-AZ) RMM
Senator Ron Wyden (D-OR) (Chairman of Science, Space, & Technology Subcommittee)
Senator John D. Rockefeller IV (D-WV)
Senator John F. Kerry (D-MA)
Senator Byron L. Dorgan (D-ND)
Senator Max Cleland (D-GA)
Senator John Edwards (D-NC)
Senator Jean Carnahan (D-MO)
Senator Bill Nelson (D-FL)

Senator George Allen (R-VA) (RRM of Science, Space, & Technology Subcommittee)
Senator Ted Stevens (R-AK)
Senator Conrad Burns (R-MT)
Senator Trent Lott (R-MS)
Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-TX)
Senator Sam Brownback (R-KS)
Senator Peter G. Fitzgerald (R-IL)

House Authorizers ---

Rep. Sherwood Boehlert (R-NY) Chairman
Rep. Ralph Hall (D-TX) RMM

Rep. Dana Rohrabacher (R-CA) (Chairman of Space & Aeronautics Subcommittee)
Rep. Bart Gordon (D-TN) (RRM of Space & Aeronautics Subcommittee)
Rep. Lamar S. Smith (R-TX)
Rep. Joe Barton (R-TX)
Rep. Ken Calvert (R-CA)
Rep. Roscoe G. Bartlett (R-MD)
Rep. Dave Weldon (R-FL)
Rep. Chris Cannon (R-UT)
Rep. George R. Nethercutt, Jr. (R-WA)
Rep. Frank D. Lucas (R-OK)
Rep. Gary G. Miller (R-CA)
Rep. Mike Pence (R-IN)
Rep. J. Randy Forbes (R-VA)

Rep. Nick Lampson (D_TX)
Rep. John B. Larson (D-CT)
Rep. Dennis Moore (D-KS)
Rep. Zoe Lofgren (D-CA)
Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX)
Rep. Bob Etheridge (D-NC)
Rep. Mark Udall (D-CO)
Rep. David Wu (D-OR)
Rep. Anthony D. Weiner (D-NY)

If you are a constituent of any of the above named individuals, please contact them; otherwise please contact the Chairmen and Ranking Minority Members ("RRMs") asking them to please ---

1) Support the appropriation of $1 million to be transferred from the NASA budget to the Oklahoma Space Industrial Development Authority;


2) That the following report language be added to the NASA Authorization and Appropriation Bills:

"The Administrator is authorized to transfer up to $2 million per year per state to a properly constituted state space development authority for the purpose of licensing and developing spaceport facilities."

This funding level should be adequate to let OSIDA license the Burns Flats Spaceport, a vital element of progress for the new commercial companies. Burns Flats is being examined for use by Pioneer Rocketplanes, XCOR Aerospace, Armadillo Aerospace, Space Adventures, Vela Technology, TGV Rockets, and a host of other firms.

If you are from Oklahoma, please take time to call your Representative and thank them for their support on this issue. The entire Oklahoma Congressional Delegation is supporting this issue, and it is important that they hear from constituents about their support for this activity. Please feel free to contact your own representatives and ask them to write their colleagues. Your congressperson can be located by http://www.house.gov/house/MemberWWW.html and entering your zip code.

Please be polite and professional.

HobbySpace Home Space Gazette RLV News